Add/Remove Members to a Google Shared Drive

Question

How do I add/remove members to Google Shared Drive? 

 

Environment

  • Google Drive

 

Information

Shared drives exist within Google Drive and function as a way to store, share, and access files within a team. The files in the shared drive belong to the team, not the creator, this means even if a person leaves the shared drive the files they posted remain.  

 

Answer

Adding members

  1. Navigate to Google Drive
  2. Click Shared Drives tab on the left-side menu.
  3. Click the desired Shared drive.
  4. Click Manage members at the top
  5. Enter the name of the person(s) you wish to add
  6. To change:
    1. Permissions for a new member: click the Down arrow and choose an option.
    2. Whether new members get notified: click Notify people
  7. Click Send

Removing members

  1. Navigate to Google Drive
  2. Click Shared Drives tab on the left-side menu.
  3. Click the desired Shared drive.
  4. Click Manage members in the upper right.
  5. Locate the member's name and click the Down arrow to the right. Select Remove member
  6. Click Done

 

Details

Article ID: 1551
Created
Fri 5/8/20 1:30 PM
Modified
Wed 5/18/22 10:15 AM