Manage Users in Blackboard Course

Question

How do I add or remove users in my Blackboard course?

e.g. Adding/Removing an Instructor, Teaching Assistant, Guest or Course Builder.

 

Environment

  • Blackboard

 

Information

User roles are defined as follows, per the Blackboard Help site

Course
Builder
The Course Builder role has access to most areas of the course. This role is appropriate for an assistant who shouldn't have access to student grades.

If the course is unavailable to students, a course builder can still access the course. The course builder can't remove an instructor from a course.
Grader The Grader role has limited access to the course. Graders can assist an instructor in the creation, management, delivery, and grading of assessments and surveys. The grader may also assist an instructor with adding manual entries.

If a course is unavailable to students, the course appears in the course list for a user with the role of Grader. However, the grader can't enter the course until the course is available.

As part of the delegation grading workflow, instructors can assign the ability to reconcile grades to graders.
Guest The Guest role allows prospective students, alumni, and parents to explore Blackboard Learn without making any changes to users, courses, or content. Users with the role of Guest are unauthenticated users.

If an administrator has enabled guest access, instructors can make areas within a course accessible to unauthenticated users.

Though you can assign the guest role to users in the Ultra course view, guests can't access courses at this time.

Instructor Instructors have full access to the course. This role is generally assigned to the person developing, teaching, or facilitating the class. If a course is unavailable to students, users with the Instructor role may still access it. The instructor is included in the course description in the Course Catalog. The instructor role can control tool availability.
Student** Student is the default course user role. A user with the role of Student submits coursework and participates in discussions. Students can't create or grade course items. Students see private courses in their course lists, but they can't access them.

Teaching
Assistant

Users with the Teaching Assistant role have access to most of the course. If the course is unavailable to students, teaching assistants may still access the course.

The teaching assistant isn't included in the course description in the Course Catalog. Teaching assistants can't remove an instructor from a course.
** Students must be added by IT.

 

Answer

Adding and removing users is done within the Manage Users tool.

  1. Navigate to the course you wish to modify
  2. From the left side menu, click Users and Groups
  3. Select Manage Users
    • You will be greeted with a prompt informing you of the actions that can be performed within this tool. Press the X in the upper right of the dialog box to close the prompt.

Remove User

  1. Click the check box to the left of their name and click Remove from this course

Add User

  1. Click Add in the upper left of the table
  2. Enter the username of the individual
  3. Select the Course Role
  4. Click Submit

Edit User Roles

Editing user roles is done in the Users tool vs. the Manage Users tool above.

  1. Navigate to the course you wish to modify
  2. From the left side menu, click Users and Groups
  3. Select Users
  4. Click the carrot to access Menu next to intended user
  5. Click Change User's Role in Course
  6. Select the desired role
  7. Click Submit

Details

Article ID: 933
Created
Fri 8/24/18 10:24 AM
Modified
Tue 3/22/22 8:46 AM